Home » Uncategorized » Standing Steadfast

Standing Steadfast

Standing SteadfastTherefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord. 1 Corinthians 15:48

When I think of STEADFAST I think of two things- mountains and God. Scripture refers often to God as a mighty mountain or rock.  He is our Firm Foundation, our Solid Rock, our Rock of Ages. He won’t be moved unless He desires to move. Maybe that’s why we stand in awe of the majesty of mountain ranges. They take our breath away, because they remind us how great and mighty God is.

If you were to ask me what I think the opposite of STEADFAST is, I would say humans.  We waver with the slightest wind of change.  Everyday trends and opinions change, even inside the church. We are easily moved by the currents of society.  Scripture compares our wills to shifting sand.  If you’ve ever walked a beach, you know how easily the sand moves when stepped upon, blown, or touched by water.  We are the epitome of shifty.

But God calls us to be STEADFAST. He wants us to stand anchored in His word, His will, His love.  He tells us to be like trees planted beside Living Water, our roots seeking out His depths.  But how? How do we grow roots?  How do we reach deeper than the sandy surface and find the bedrock that will anchor us?

Through Him.

It is that simple and yet that hard.  We have to desire Him the way the thirsty desire water.  When we do, we will find persistent prayer a way of life.  We will find His word our source of strength, comfort, hope.  We will find our arms wrapped tightly around Him and His arms around us.  We will cling to His steadfast presence and thus be planted ourselves.

Lately, I’ve been evaluating where I stand in all the different areas of my life.  Like the people in the picture above, I’m standing in awe of the mountain that is God’s will upon which the terrain of my life is tread. I feel so small, so inadequate. My knees quake at the thought of going down this steep mountainside and up that densely wooded one across the way. I know I can’t do it without Him.  I have to anchor myself deep and follow the instructions of the Holy Spirit about where to find my footing and my next anchor verse.

So be encouraged to keep steadfast even when the mountain looks impossible.  Even when you get scrapped up trying to go your own way.  Even when you find yourself hanging by the rope of salvation.  Even when you wander off the path prepared for you and find yourself hopelessly lost.  He is there, underneath you assuring your footing, beside you ready to comfort, within you ready to tell you where to put the next anchor, even ahead of you forging a path back to His perfect one.  We will find our steadfastness in being confident in His.

I love to hear from my readers.  Is there a time God has shown His steadfast heart towards you?  I’d love to hear about it.

4 thoughts on “Standing Steadfast

    • Yeah! We got past wordpress woes. I’m going to be writing on prayer the next few weeks so I pray the Lord uses it to minister to those who read.

      Like

    • You’re welcome Mary. I’m always humbled when I hear God reaches through to those reading my blog. It keeps me writing for Him.

      Like

Leave a Comment

