Home » Uncategorized » Always look at the bright side #AtoZChallenge

Always look at the bright side #AtoZChallenge

We closed on our new house on Thursday, March 30th. I knew with moving and my regular writing commitments, I really shouldn’t take on another challenge, but I couldn’t help myself.  So I decided I’d share the crazy little projects I am doing to geek out our four bedroom, two bath, 1500 square foot home.  The A-Z challenge was a perfect fit. So each day this month I’ll share a DIY project that I’ve completed.

As an author, it’s pretty easy to guess that I’m a book nerd. But if you don’t know me personally, you’d probably never guess that I’m actually a geek about lots of other things, too.  I love history and steampunk. I love Doctor Who and Star Trek.  I often speak in famous movie lines or sing song lyrics in response to a question.  And that’s where today’s project came from.

Monty Python is chalk full of great one liners and witty banters.  I love British humor, and I have quite a few projects around my new home that will attest to it. One of my favorite lines/songs is “Always look on the bright side of life.” It has a deeper meaning for me as a Christian.  The world tends to focus on the negative, but God tells us to focus on the good (Phl 4:8).  So I wanted to brighten my home with a little reminder to choose joy.

My first project was a simple one create a lampshade where the quote shows up when you turn on the light.  I created a pretty version of the quote in CANVA and printed it on my laser printer to get the dark black.

DON'TPANIC

After cutting it down to size I sprayed it with spray adhesive (or I’ve read you could use a glue stick if the inside of your lampshade is plastic.) Then I placed it on the inside of the shade. Super simple. Took about five minutes once I made the CANVA.

Always look

There are other ways to do this project. You can print on vinyl or cardstock with a cricut machine. You could hand stencil and paint the lettering (which I may do later for a more permanent solution). This project is also much easier on a shade that has straight sides vs the cone.

One safety note. Make sure if you are going to use paper that it is far away from the bulb or you use an LED bulb that doesn’t get hot.  Regular bulbs or halogen get very hot and paper can catch fire.

Do you love Monty Python? Have a favorite scene?  Have any of you done a lampshade project?  I’d love to hear from you in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “Always look at the bright side #AtoZChallenge

  1. A girl after my own heart! I’m a fellow Christian geek (or geeky Christian) and crafter. I love the spin you put on the Monty Python quote – I’d never thought of it from that angle before. I tend to sing “well I’m not dead yet” in my head when I think of Monty Python – I’ve seen Spamalot on stage a couple of times and the soundtrack is on one of my regular playlists. My other favourite song from the show is “This is the song that goes like this”. 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing what else you do to geek out your house.

    I’m cross stitching a Buffy the Vampire Slayer-themed alphabet for the challenge over at Fangirl Stitches

    All the best with the challenge!

    Ros

    Like

Leave a Comment

